Writing Exercise – This I Believe 11/7

List 5-10 beliefs that you hold to be true.  Your beliefs can range from broad philosophical thoughts such, “nature is more important than nurture,” to more specific instances such as “cats are better than dogs.”  (give students about 10 minutes to contemplate)

  1. Say NO to things you don’t like
  2. Be your own master
  3. Think about one good thing everyday can make me happy
  4. Keep doing one thing for 20 days can form a habit
  5. Social networking website is ruin our lives
  6. Drink a cup of water everyday after getting up
  7. We should appreciate everything in life
  8. Friends are the treasures in life
  9. Reading is essential and important
  10. Fear can hold you prisoner, hope can set you free.

Choose 2 or 3 of the above beliefs and answer the following questions:
How did this idea form?
How firmly do i believe it?
Why do i maintain it?
What would make me change my belief?

  • Be your own master

This is a statement I learned in a class several years ago but I have been stick to it for a very long time. It conveys an idea that we should do things we want, think and behave independently, and we should not let other people influence us. I believe in this deeply because I think this is what we should do exactly. We should not flow with the crowd and do what other people do. Sometimes, the majority may not necessarily be right. Sometimes, when I encounter problems and have difficulty making decisions, I will always think about this belief, clear my minds, clam down, and think from my own perspective and beliefs. I think nothing will change my belief.

  • Social networking website is ruin our lives

Even though this belief sounds a little bit extreme, but this idea comes from the reality that everyone can see in their daily lives. Ten years ago, I don’t have a smart phone, not even a mobile phone. I have a very big computer at home but I do not really know how to use it. There was no social websites such as Facebook and Twitter. I spent most of my time with friends and my family. However, nowadays, people spend so much time on social websites and internet, even when friends are eating together, everyone is holding a cell phone in their hands. I believe the essence of these social networking websites are lowering the quality of our life, both for our health and our relationship with other people. I try to not spend so long on SNS everyday than I used to. Maybe one day the social networking sites changed, I may change my belief as well

Leave a comment